Linguine with lemon, feta & basil

I cook a lot of pasta when I training for 5Ks (and now a 10K). It gives me some ease in the kitchen, lets me eat light and load up on carbs. Because I once heard someone on a sitcom say that was a good idea. And that’s where I get my knowledge. That’s how I got so smart.

Recipe courtesy of Gordon Ramsay’s Cooking for Friends
Serves 4

1 lb. fresh or 10 oz. dried linguine
salt and pepper
4 tbsp. olive oil
juice and zest of 1 lemon
5 tbsp. grated parmesan
fresh basil
1 cup feta, crumbled
2 tbsp. toasted pine nuts

Start by cooking the pasta in a large saucepan of salted boiling water. I used stock, salt and a drizzle of olive oil. What to do you think of that, Gordon Ramsay? Nothing? That’s what I thought. Of course, you have more books and restaurants than I have, but you don’t got this blog. At least until someone notifies Gordon Ramsay Holdings about some jackhole that’s essentially using all of your recipes, you sue and then own this site. Then you got this blog.

You win this round, Ramsay. Anyway…

In the meantime, toast the pine nuts in a smaller pan on the stove over medium heat. Toss them to turn, but be careful not to burn them.

Cook the pasta according to the package instructions until al dente. When cooked, drain off most of the water or stock, reserving about 2 tbsp. of the liquid. Return the pasta to the pan and add the olive oil, lemon juice and zest, parmesan, basil and 3/4 cup of the feta. Toss well and season.

Divide among plates and finish with the remaining feta and pine nuts. I garnished the plate with some remaining basil because basil is awesome.

Serve.

Cross fingers. Avoid litigation.

Leave a Reply

