Meat / Pork

Chili pork tacos (a la JoeBla)

Joe knows chili pork. And how to put me out of a job.

That last line isn’t very clear, so I’ll explain. It’s one of my favorite stories of all time.

I’m a die-hard Phillies fan, and in case you didn’t know, they won the World Series in 2008, which now feels like 20 years ago. During Game 4, my friends and I were at our jinx bar (translation: the Phillies won games there when we were all together so we couldn’t go anywhere else or be absent for any games). Things were looking good for the Phillies, so as a joke, I said to the stranger next to me: “I would give a year’s salary if Joe Blanton hit a homerun right now.” After all, he’s just Joe Blanton. And he’s a freakin’ pitcher for butt’s sake. And he’s NEVER EVER hit a homerun in his entire career.

Big Joe took it yard. I lost my job that December and spent over a year unemployed. Curse you, JoeBla.

But if all it took was my financial ruin for the Phillies to win a World Series, so be it. They won, and the parade was one of the highlights of my life.

As it turns out, Joe’s got a talent in the kitchen too. I made some adjustments to Joe’s “chili con carne” made easy, because let’s face it: I don’t do anything that isn’t a ton of work.

2 lbs. pork shoulder

16 oz. diced tomatoes
1 tsp. salt
4 Serrano or jalapeno chiles, minced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 yellow onion, minced
1/2 tsp. cumin powder
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. garlic powder

I did this one in a crockpot, so if you don’t have one or want to utilize it for this, you’re going to need to place the ingredients in a roasting pan and cook it there.

Pork shoulder is a mammoth piece of meat and can be pretty expensive too. If you don’t want to commit to that, I won’t be insulted. Neither will Joe. So if you want to use a loin, go ahead. But definitely adjust your cook times!

As I said, pork shoulder is a monster of a meal. And you aren’t going to get it all in your crock and get it to cook even without cutting it down into chunks, so get out your best butcher’s knife or carving knive and get to it.

Add all of the chili ingredients into a blender and pulse. Be sure to save the juice from the can of tomatoes. That moisture is really going to help keep the pork moist and help to cook it as well. Pour this mixture into the crockpot, then put in the pork.

Cook on low in the crockpot for 8 hours, then remove the pork and begin to pull it apart. Add the pulled pork back to the crockpot and simmer the chili and pork over low for another hour.

As you can see, I enjoyed mine in the form of tacos, but this would be great by itself or even as a dip.

Serve.

And turn the season around, man! But without my financial assistance. I’m not stupid enough to challenge you twice.

Leave a Reply

