Sauces & Marinades / Vegetarian

Peppadew pepper ketchup

Yes, I even make my own condiments.

I was going to make Hubert Keller’s Piquillo Pepper Ketchup weeks ago, but I didn’t know what a piquillo pepper was. When my trusty pal Siri told me it was red, I got some hot peppers. Not only was that wrong, but it was especially painful when I touched my nose.

Once I determined that they were sweeter peppers (and still couldn’t find them), I settled on peppadew, which are incredibly sweet and tart. Also, they are orange (at least the ones I bought), so the ketchup sort of looks like a science experiment gone wrong.

Enough with the yackety-yak. Here’s ketchup.

Recipe adapted from Hubert Keller’s Burger Bar
Makes 2 cups

2 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 cup finely chopped yellow onion
1 lb. plum tomatoes, peel, seeded and chopped
12 oz. (one jar) peppadew peppers, roughly chopped
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
2 tsp. honey
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 tsp. fresh thyme
sea salt and ground black pepper

Heat a tablespoon of the olive oil in a pan over medium. Add the onions and cook until soft and translucent, then add the tomatoes, peppers, vinegar, honey, garlic, thyme…ok, just add everything else on the list. Bring it to a boil, simmer and cook, uncovered, until thick, stirring like a mad man cause ketchup sticks and subsequently burns.

Transfer the mixture to a blender or processor to puree it. Taste and season.

Pour the ketchup and a tablespoon of olive oil into a container, then cover and set aside to room temp it. It keeps in the fridge for a week and in the freezer for four months. I don’t know this from personal experience, but what does Hubert Keller gain from lying to me?

Oh right, I almost forgot…

Serve.

On scrapple!!!

Leave a Reply

