Burgers & Sandwiches / Meat / Sauces & Marinades

“Muffaletta”

A sandwich built for a giant made up entirely of ingredients I bought from Giant. Mind = blown.

I lied to you. Again. Last week when I returned from vacation, I promised something within 24 hours. It’s been roughly 120 hours. My bad.

To make up for my apparent lack of cookery, here’s a sandwich that, if you make it today, will take you the entire week to eat. That’s cooking on a budget!

In spite of losing on Throwdown with this take on a classic muffaletta, I’m still a stupid mark for Bobby Flay. So rather than make the classic recipe that actually won (yet), I’m starting off with the Iron Chef’s resounding failure first.

sand2

Recipe courtesy of Bobby Flay
Serves 8

1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup sherry vinegar
2 tbsp. Dijon mustard
1 tbsp. honey
1 red onion, diced
2 cups pitted picholine and cerignola olives, coarsely chopped
1 cup piquillo peppers, roughly chopped
fresh parsley, chopped
1/4 fresh oregano, chopped
salt and pepper

1 italian loaf

2 oz. Genoa salami
2 oz. hot soppresata
2 oz. dry salami
2 oz. serrano ham
2 oz. Manchego cheese

Make the non-traditional muffaletta spread* with all of those spread items. Whisk the mayo, vinegar, mustard and honey, then fold in the onion, olives, peppers, parsley and oregano. Season to taste.

*The biggest difference between the traditional spread and Bobby’s is that he uses mayonnaise. Personally, I don’t like mayo on much because it’s not super healthy. Must be a New York thing, or maybe his own personal preference. Regardless, I used light mayo instead, which my girlfriend insists isn’t even mayo. Works for me! 

Slice the bread in half, and pull some of interior from the top half. Spread the above mixture on each half, and save what’s left. I had a lot of leftovers as far as meat and the spread left, so this could even feed you for longer than just the one week. But I can’t recommend eating all of that mayonnaise and olives for as many days. I’m no doctor, but I’m pretty sure that would be a bad thing. 

Layer the meat and cheese on the bottom, alternating layers of meat and cheese. Cover and cut.

Serve.

Leave a Reply

