Cranberry-mango sauce

No. It’s not chutney.

Every holiday, and for some reason when we have fried chicken, my family breaks out the old tin of cranberry. You know the kind. The one that retains the shape of the can. It’s a confusing piece of food to say the least, but it’s been a staple for the 31 years I’ve been here. Until one day while celebrating Thanksgiving in Maine, I tried something called cranberry chutney. It was amazing, but the Maineiacs I got it from and I haven’t spoken for like 7 years, and I’ve pretty much lost the recipe, so I’ve been fudging it for a couple of years now, with painful results.

This year, I’ve abandoned all hope of recreating it, and have turned to Bobby Flay for a cranberry base that I’ll be using for the rest of time. The base is great, with just a little tart to it, but I added a few changes to it to make it my own, and will be doing so for years to come.

cran2

Base Cranberry Sauce courtesy of Bobby Flay
Serves 12

2 tbsp. canola oil
1 tbsp. grated ginger or ginger paste
1 shallot, diced
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup orange juice
1/2 cup granulated sugar
salt
1 lb. fresh cranberries

Heat the oil over medium heat, then add the ginger and shallots, and cook until soft. Stir in sugars, honey, OJ and salt. Cook until the mixture is bubbly, then add half of the cranberries and cook until they pop and the mixture thickens. Add the remaining cranberries, and cook for another 5 minutes.

1/2 cup mango jelly
1 lime, zest and juice
salt and pepper

Stir in the jelly and cook for a minutes. Remove from heat, and mix in the lime, salt and pepper.

Serve.

Leave a Reply

