State of the Blog

Did the blog survive snow-mageddon?

For the record, I hate terms like “snow-mageddon” or “snow-pocalypse,” but it’s already written there, and it’s late on a Friday afternoon, so that’s what you’re getting.

I’ve been a little backed up, as evidenced by the fact that we’re two weeks into February, and this is my first entry this month. Here’s where things stand:

  • We’re incredibly backed up. Not much of a shock. There are about 3 dishes in the queue, but between work, planning our wedding, exercise, and leftovers, it’s been a crazy time in our lives. As a matter of fact, we’re scaling down to new dish per week for awhile as we try to get our heads on straight. Beyond that, I will attempt to get 2-3 “other” posts on the site, ranging from videos from wherever to quirky articles and pictures about food stuffs.
  • I will no longer take the time to write every single, solitary instruction for recipes that are not Original dishes. So, in the case of your Bobby Flays or Gordon Ramsays, if a link for the dish is available elsewhere, I will provide it. However, I will have little notes about what I did instead of what they did or what I did in addition to what they did, as well as little pointers or substitutions here and there. Honestly, between cooking it and shooting it, I just don’t have the energy to copy recipes, rewrite thing, etc. Especially ones where I make absolutely no changes to the recipe. On the plus side, it still shows you what I did, and shares the food with you in some way, which is what the site is all about.
  • I’d like to also just say “thank you” to anyone who read this blog and contributed to Serious Peanuts. The producers of last year’s “A Cooking Show” launched a Kickstarter for their latest attempt to get rich and famous, “A Perfect Situation,” and it inexplicably met its goal. So, the show will continue,  and I will continue to drop little sarcastic comments at both of the writers as they continue their work, hogging either my coffee table or kitchen table. Just get an office, guys. Shit.
  • I also want to thank all of the readers who are just people who check out the site, Facebook or Twitter, subscribe or whatever. This spring, The Food Chain will turn 5. And just because I’m busy doesn’t mean I’m going to abandon the site. It’s not like it’s a kid turning 5, and you just let it out into the wild to fend for itself. The Food Chain is obviously way more important than some kid*. And since I still have a passion for cooking, the blog isn’t going anywhere.

That’s all for now. Sorry for making you wait this long to eat. Stay hungry, and we’ll be back on Monday!

*Maybe not my nephew. Or future nephew. Those kids are alright.

One thought on “State of the Blog

Leave a Reply

