Staying Fit on a Busy Schedule

There’s always time to work out, even if it’s just for as little as 30 minutes a day.

I’m blessed in that I have a good job with a flexible schedule, it’s only 10 minutes from the house, and the gym is only 5 minute from the house. We also live in a development and a small town that are both great backdrops for running or even just walking, especially when the New Years folks are clogging up the works at the gym.

But as you know, the last two months have been hectic, and I have just not had enough time to cook something and write about it, or waste any time finding articles or videos for the blog. The trick is, you have to make time for the things are that most important to you. While I try to cook something for the site as often as my schedule and wallet allow, the one thing I won’t compromise on is a good workout. Neither should you!

I’ve linked you to Bobby Flay Fit recipes and videos, and today is no exception. This video has a great recipe that we’ll be trying out sooner than later, some tips on exercising when “there’s just not enough time” and ways to eat healthy on the go.

Here’s what I do to make time for everything:

  • Spreadsheet action, yo: I have an Excel spreadsheet where I plan out my workout(s) for the day from running to yoga to just plain old gym time. It’s a flexible schedule, so I don’t kick myself when I miss something or need to swap one workout for another, but it at least gives me a schedule to be doing one workout per day at minimum.
    • I also use it to track the meals I want to cook, track events so I can plan my workouts around them and see my weight gain/loss over different training plans or periods of time.
  • Working out on the go: The running shoes come almost everywhere with me, but when I can’t run, I ripped my yoga DVDs onto the computer, and synced them up to my mobile device. Yes, I have done my morning yoga in a hotel in Las Vegas once a year, every year. I also do my yoga on the beach every summer in New Jersey.

 

Leave a Reply

