Tilapia fish tacos w/ arugula

Fish cups!

In my efforts to lose a stupid amount of weight before my upcoming trip to Mexico (and of course for other health benefits or something), we’ve been eating a lot of lighter food. A personal favorite of ours is a good old fashion fish taco, but this Giada de Laurentiis recipes comes with a twist – wonton wrappers. And since wontons only come in packs of like 1,000, this is something you can eat all week and not feel like a heifer.

2014-03-11 09.51.45

Recipe courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis
Serves 4-6

My Take:

  • Creme Fraiche: That one’s for Dave…who I can’t imagine will ever know I did this. But anyway, creme fraiche isn’t something I see at the regular old grocery store, so with an overabundance of Greek yogurt, I made a simple substitute on Giada’s topping. Make sure it’s plain Greek yogurt though, because I imagine combining any other kind of flavor with wasabi powder might be particularly heinous.
  • Slow Down Tubby: Personally, I like the wonton taco concept. You can only fit so much into one small wrapper. I put a tablespoon of the salad in there, some fish and a dollop of the wasabi yogurt, whereas if I did this as a big taco on a soft shell, I’d have maybe twice as much, and might still eat anywhere between 2-3 tacos. Two or three of these little things keeps your portion control in check nicely.

 

Leave a Reply

