Burgers & Sandwiches / Grilling / Pork / Sauces & Marinades

Pulled pork sliders w/ black pepper vinegar sauce

When I think Mother’s Day, I think…pulled pork?

The Food Chain’s mother is a big fan of pulled pork sandwiches. So this year, we went to my parents to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day and to celebrate my parents 41st wedding anniversary. After all, the 41st year is the “pulled pork” year.

I followed the cooking instructions pretty much to the letter, with the exception of the green onion slaw, which I imagined my family might have their doubts with, so I’ll just have to try that myself some other time. Beyond that, I smoked the pork shoulder on the grill the day before and shredded it once it was cooked. The following morning, I combined the meat with the black pepper vinegar sauce, and let it stay warm on low in my crock pot.

*If you’re not a big fan of smoking your food or simply don’t know how and aren’t quite ready, you can also cook this in the oven. Just rub the pork and braise it at 350 degrees in the oven for about four hours with some chicken stock OR toss it in the crock pot with some chicken stock on low for about 5-6 hours

**One healthy tip: the cole slaw was just a basic, bagged slaw dressing with a yogurt-based, bottled dressing that no one managed, which no one managed to notice was different, so there’s a healthy endorsement. 

2014-06-03 14.06.43

Recipe courtesy of Bobby Flay
Serves 12

Leave a Reply

